I don’t always kill things. When I do, it’s because they were things and I’m a bear.

  Albert Einstein once said that “if the facts don’t fit the theory, change the facts”. So, because I’m not really a bear, but like to assume I am, I will change the facts to befit my theory. I am a bear named Waaris ‘Wars’ Mohammad from Houston, Texas. Debater, musician, martial artist, and suit aficionado ( a stark contrast to your conventional bear, I know). You can think of me as a modernized, kempt bear. I am a politically independent Ursidae who’s origins can be traced to the northern regions of India, in the valley’s of the Himalayan mountain and borne into a lower class family run by Poppa bear (oh the puns). My mother left my family when I was 6, so I became independent quite quickly, learning to cook, clean, and launder (the legal type of laundering) to help sustain my family. It’s through good fortune, hard work, and debate scholarships that I was able to come stay in DC.

  My goals for class this year would be to better my ability to write densely, rather than rambling on as I usually do. My writing style is usually informal which doesn’t bode well with others, so another goal would be to become well versed in formal writing as well.

  My upbringing made it difficult to go around to art galleries and what not, so I found beauty in a different type of art, music. My tastes in such art ranges from the beautiful, traditional soft spoken songs of the Kashmiri people in the Himalayas to the instrumental, progressive music of modern artists, both which weave a tale that differs in meaning from person to person.

    Music to me is the greatest art. As a musician, it’s quite easy to find music that illustrates human emotions and paints a tale of the high shrills of human existence in it’s pain and hardship, the clear, melodic tune of happiness and euphoria, and the low, chugging beats of determination and hard work. 

Image

  

My personal favorite piece of revolutionary art would be from the Tropicalia movement in Brazil following the Brazilian army’s coup in 1964. Many artists during the period began voicing their discontent against military control by utilizing a more universal music, mixing traditional bossa nova and samba with rock, jazz and blues. The most iconic music of the time would be “ou Panis et Cercenis” by Os Mutantes, a psychedelic rock band. They utilized music to paint the disgusting nature of the military through angry tones, heavy beats, followed by lower pentatonic that elicited a feeling of sadness from the listeners. Although many international audience didn’t understand the lyrics due to linguistic differences, the music in itself stuck out to many in unique style and tone. 

Standard

Leave a Reply

